Dressember 2013: Welcome to my Journey

plus-size-dress-form-w724Today I almost forgot that it was December 1st. I also forgot that it’s the first day of Dressember. My month long commitment to wear a dress every day of December. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to do Dressember this year. Last year it started as a joke/bet/ curiosity, and realized mid-month that I had avid followers and felt obligated to finish what I started.

This morning I didn’t want to wear a dress.

This morning I wasn’t going to wear a dress.

This morning I was cold and lazy and wanted to wear pajamas all day.

I was complaining that I didn’t want to be part of personal journey that would not raise awareness about anything or benefit anyone except my ego.

I want to be part of something that is larger than myself.

I got up at the crack of dawn, put on my running shorts, long-sleeve top, sneakers, and went for a run this morning, with that conviction in mind.

I came back convinced that I Dressember was going to happen.

Dressember with a purpose.

This month, my Dressember posts will be accompanied with snapshots of common day issues that women face around the world and steps that everyone can take to be part of the solution, this includes mobilizing campaigns and/or movements.   The first step is awareness.

If I can tap the interest of my fashion-inclined followers AND help raise awareness on current women’s issues, I think I’ll enjoy this month a little bit more.

Thanks for reading. Enjoy the dresses. I hope it stays 79 degrees all month long.

Welcome to my Journey.

Love,

Patty

Leave a Reply

