World Aids Day- December 1

Today I went to church (shout out to New Life Community Church in East L.A.) and took some photos in front of our little building. Jonathan said not to take photos in front of beat up East L.A. business railing that covers part of my church; that it looked ghetto and that I needed something nicer. I disagreed. I accept the community my church is in as it is. It is beautiful, one just has to open our eyes to see it.

I proceeded to take some photos in front of our building before I got too many stares and honks from passing cars and pedestrians.

Shades of Blue 12.1   12.1 12.1

Today’s message was about faith and works; how our actions should reflect our faith and how our faith should reflect our actions. They say that our actions speak louder than words and I think that’s true. I’m slowly learning how to live this out and I’m starting by educating myself about issues at hand. Baby steps right?

So to start, today is World Aids Day.

Facts:

  • Every minute one young woman acquires HIV, accounting for 22% of all new HIV infections
  • Women are 2 to 4 times more likely than men to become infected with HIV
  • Every day, 900 children are born with HIV

Let’s be the generation that ends this.

What are you doing to take action?

Resources:

http://www.worldaidsday.org/

Leave a Reply

